View from the {outdoor} classroom

My take on life as a Natural Resources student at Fox Valley Tech

Faculty Spotlight: Q&A with Scott Heinritz December 8, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Fox Valley Technical College @ 8:50 am

With last week being a shorter week due to the holidays, and half of my classes being cancelled for traveling and hunting, I figured I’d take this time to let you guys get to know one of my personal favorite teachers of my first semester: Scott Heinritz. I have yet to meet another person in this world so eager to help me succeed in my educational journey. Scott is truly invested in his students and his work at Fox Valley Technical College and has proved to already be an amazing instructor. Here is what he has to say…

FVTC instructor Scott Heinritz

Tell me about your background and how you got to FVTC.

I started out with getting my Bachelor of Science Degree in Water Quality/Fisheries Biology from UW-Superior. After that I got a job working for the US Environmental Protection Agency in their National Freshwater Lab in Duluth, Minnesota working in Environmental Toxicology. I stayed there for about 10 years before taking a job as an Environmental Manager at a paper company where I was in charge of all environmental compliance. Then I took a job here at Fox Valley Technical College and have been here about 4 years.

What classes do you teach at FVTC?

I teach Exploring Natural Resources, Ecology, Water Quality, Wastewater, Water Supply and some Plant ID.

If you had any advice for students just starting out in this program, what would it be?

I would actually have three things to tell them:

  1. Take your studies seriously. Time goes by so fast at a technical college. Two years may seem like a long time, but it is here and gone before you know you it. For a lot of students the first year is a growing stage, and then year two you’re already graduating.
  2. Gain as much experience as you can. Set yourself apart from others to employers. Volunteer, do extra work, internships, or limited term employment.
  3. Have fun!

What do you find to be the biggest hurdle or challenge for students in this program?

The biggest hurdle I see is trying to budget time to study. Students are busy with family, jobs, obligation, children, taking care of parents, whatever it may be. Study time vs. obligations seems to be the biggest issue.

What is your favorite part of teaching at FVTC?

The Students! I love to watch them all grow as they go through the program. At some point in every student’s career a light comes on for them, and I love to be a part of that.

 

2 Responses to “Faculty Spotlight: Q&A with Scott Heinritz”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Great blog, Bethany! Scott is truly an amazing instructor.

  2. Kyle Says:

    I’ve got Scott for two classes this semester and he’s great. Never have I met another teacher that is so approachable. I don’t really see Scott as a traditional instructor, I see him as more of a peer. I’m really looking forward to taking some more of Scott’s classes.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.